So my parents bought two cartons of strawberries and five mangos the day I had to make the cake. I was planning on stuffing the Napoleon with mango but decided not to in the end thus we had a lot of fruit leftover.

The dilemma was that though we had eaten one mango, the three leftover ones that were bought from the ‘upscale’ grocery store were incredibly small and sour while the remaining good one was from the street market. I decided to slice up the mangos and make a tart using a hybrid of recipes that I like.

A Work in Progress

I need to learn how to slice mangos nicely or find a mango that tastes as good as it looks. So far the Filipino one are the most fragrant with the sweetest taste while Mexican ones are large (easier to slice) but down in scent and flavor.

Sorry I know the tart isn’t pretty because I was dealing with overripe mango that turned into blobs as soon as I sliced its tender flesh, or they were so unripe that they looked yellow compared to the orange of the ripe one. But it did taste really good. Next time: more mangos and less cream (although I could eat that with a spoon). I will also practice slicing mangos.

Please take a slice

MANGO TART

Crust

I consider the crust I made for the Poached Pear Wine Tart as my standard recipe now. It’s got that buttery shortbread taste that feels like you’re eating a cookie but bette. I won’t post it again, so refer back to here: Poached Pear Tart Crust

Filling

Seriously the BEST filling I’ve ever had.  I’d use this to pair with any kind of soft, sweet sour fruits. A little lemon and ginger counteract the creaminess and sweetness of the medley of cheeses. Omg, I could eat it by the spoonfuls. And it’s so easy! Taken from this recipe: Nectarine and Mascarpone Tart in Gingersnap Crust

  • 1 8-ounce container mascarpone cheese*
  • 6 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped crystallized ginger
  • Beat first 6 ingredients in medium bowl until smooth. Beat in crystallized ginger. Spread filling in prepared crust. Cover loosely and refrigerate at least 2 hours and up to 1 day.

    Assembly

    Fill tart with cream and slice mangos. Arrange as you like. You can dice the mangos into cubes or try slicing them. Eat.

    The mini- we ate this one while watching HK dramas as soon as it was assembled

    Wedgwood in daylight

